If you need assistance, please call 858-345-9040

7 PUSD Schools Honored as 2012 Distinguished Schools

Monday, January 29, 2018   /   by Sean Zanganeh

7 PUSD Schools Honored as 2012 Distinguished Schools

Seven elementary schools in the Poway Unified School District have been named 2012 Distinguished Schools, state education officials announced Thursday.

Elementary and secondary schools are honored in alternating years.

“The schools we are recognizing today demonstrate the incredible commitment of California’s teachers, administrators, and school employees to provide a world-class education to every student, in spite of the financial hardships facing our state and our schools,” State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson said in a statement. “Their dedication is inspiring, and I applaud and admire their passion and persistence.”

The seven campuses in Poway Unified, among 387 across the state, are:

  • Chaparral Elementary

  • Los Peñasquitos Elementary

  • Monterey Ridge Elementary

  • Morning Creek Elementary

  • Park Village Elementary

  • Westwood Elementary

  • Willow Grove Elementary

Campuses designated as Distinguished Schools have identified two signature practices that have enabled them to narrow the achievement gap. The schools must also meet requirements around overall academic performance.

**Article Credit to PowayPatch**

Want to live in Poway?